Chapter "Herstory"

Armed with determination and the combined strength and talents of a dedicated sisterhood, 29 members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc, under the direction of Mid-Western Regional Director Wessylyne A. Simpson, chartered Sigma Sigma Omega Chapter on May 20, 1990 in Oklahoma City, OK.

Charter Members
Nancy J. Banks, Denise A. Blair, Glenda L. Brewer, Sheila Jones Brown, Jewel Davis Bruner, Sherol N. Darco, Phayeonlyne Doster, Lonzetta Dukes, Betty Easlick, Cheryl Fowler, Nan Franklin, Carolyn Gray, Iris H. Green, Loveta Hammond, Norma James, Ramona Kellam, Linda Mason, Tanya Mustin, Portia Parker, Edwina Redd, Brenda Roberson, Barbara Robets, Karolyn Ruffin, Evelyn Davis Shelley, Floyzell Stevenson, Valerie Thompson, Lena Threatt, Charolotte Young and Connie Wilson.

Nan Franklin was chosen as the first chapter President and these members began their mission of “Service to all Mankind”. In 1992, the Ivy AKAdemy was organized and opened at Western Heights Curriculum/Special Services Building located at North Council Road and Melrose Ave. in Oklahoma City, The AKAdemy offered tutorial services for elementary students from 1992 to 1994. The chapter continued to uphold the sorority’s program goals throughout the years; however, by 1999, found itself without the necessary number of members needed to stay active.

In the winter of 2000, under the leadership of the 25th Mid-Western Regional Director, Brenda Lewis, nine members reactivated Sigma Sigma Omega. Eneshal Borders, Angela Burnett, Daria Dean, LaToya Gammon, Armisha Walker-Harrison, Michele Purvey, Elicia Richardson, Sonja Singleton and Jamila Woodard made the decision to keep the flame of Sigma Sigma Omega burning. Angela Burnett was chosen as chapter President and these ladies went to work.

Since being reactivated, Sigma Sigma Omega has given over $10,000 in scholarships to graduating seniors and participants of our annual Little Miss AKA Pageant. Other activities over the years include:

Ivy Reading AKAdemy at Millwood Pre-K – 8 School (2002 to 2004)
Little Miss AKA Pageant
Volunteering at the Oklahoma Regional Food Bank
Youth Financial Literacy Programs
Health Forum (collaboration with OUHSC African-American Student Union)
Faded & Educated Back to School Program (with Twice the Cutz Barber Shop & Salon)
Angel Tree (collaboration with House of Prayer Baptist Church)
Breast Cancer Awareness Walk
Junior Diabetes Research Foundation Walk
YWCA Domestic Abuse  Walk

Bead for Life

Sigma Sigma Omega has also won numerous awards and received recognition on both the regional and national levels for program excellence. The chapter is a committed supporter of the Educational Advancement Foundation and its members consistently attend state, regional and national functions.
It is Sigma Sigma Omega’s goal to continue to encourage active membership, reclaiming lost pearls, fostering true sisterhood and providing service to all mankind. 

Sigma Sigma Omega: Sisterhood & Service on Overdrive

 Presidents of Sigma Sigma Omega

Nan Franklin 1990-1991, Denise Blair 1991-1992
Linda Mason 1992-1995, Betty Easlick 1995-1997,
Lillie Osbourne 1997-1999, Angela Burnett 2000-2002,
Armisha Walker-Harrison 2002-2006, Jamila Woodard 2006-2010,
Michele Purvey 2010-2014, Arnetta Williams 2014 - 2018,
Tiece Dempsey 2019 - Present

Sigma Sigma Omega is a chapter of
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and in the Mid-Western AKA Region.

Like Sigma Sigma Omega on Facebook
Sigma Sigma Omega on Facebook

Upcoming Events

April 17, 2019
#CAP/The Arts! application deadline

2019 Scholarship applications deadline

May 4, 2019
OKC Derby Day Party
Lincoln Golf Course, OKC

June 1, 2019
#CAP/The Arts! Kick Off Event & Parent Meeting

June 8, 2019
Scholarship winner recognition luncheon

September 20, 2019
HBCU For Life Happy Hour
3Sixty Founders Tower

Save SaveSaveSave